View from Ardchattan Priory, Bute

Argyll & Bute is on the West of Scotland and includes 23 inhabited islands. This area of Scotland boats stunning scenery, tranquil beaches, sea lochs rugged mountains scapes, castles, historic towns and villages

 as well as iconic wildlife.

The Inner Hebrides include Islay, Jura, Mull, Tiree, Coll, Colonsay and Lismore. Each island has it's own character.

The Isles of Bute...

Through the Middle Ages and into the post-Union period, the Duke of Argyll ruled all of Argyll.

Many works of fiction including Robert Louis Stevenson's Kidnapped have featured the wild and rugged coastline of Argyll as a setting.


Language & Culture


Gaelic and Gaelic culture.


Places to visit

Inveraray Jail in Argyll

Kilmartin Museum - an insight into The Highland Clearances

Benmore Botanic Garden

Inveraray Castle - the seat of The Dukes of Argyll